Repost to show that you care! (Give me a break!)

17 Apr

like and share

      “If you care about Jesus, puppies, and your mother means the world to you, repost this in the next 10 minutes. If you don’t then you don’t care about kids with cancer, world peace and cute little baby seals. 94.2% of you will be cowards and not repost this. Will you be part of the 3% who repost this? Come on. Take a stand! Let the cute pandas live, and show that you are proud of your faith”

Arghhhhhhhh! How many times have we seen something along the lines of the above on facebook. Some of them are just plain annoying…some are downright manipulative. The “faith” ones drive me nutty. My faith is not defined or explained in a meme on facebook. My faith is lived out. My relationship with God is not defined by what I do or do not post on facebook. Most importantly…my Jesus is not one of manipulation and these posts are extremely so!

And don’t get me started on the cancer ones either. I care about cancer awareness. I lost my brother to cancer. I have lost friends to cancer as well, and know those who have been cured or are in remission. I just don’t like my level of caring about cancer (or any disease or cause) being defined by a 2 second action on facebook. I would rather highlight individuals who are hitting the pavement raising funds to help with cancer research, those who are fighting the battle, those who are holding what remains of their friend’s hair back as the chemo is making her gut wrenchingly sick on the way to a cure.

So…if I don’t repost the post about Jesus, cancer, puppy mills, etc…realize that it is because I actually care too much to allow it to be minimized to a pithy, manipulative statement.

Now…of course, if you don’t repost this blog post it is apparent to me that you kick baby guinea pigs and trip the elderly as they pass by…  🙂

4 Responses to “Repost to show that you care! (Give me a break!)”

  1. Sally April 18, 2013 at 7:41 am #

    Oh I couldn’t agree more! When FB first started I felt guilty that I did not repost but now everytime I see these ones it just makes me mad. I feel like shouting I have had cancer and I dont want you to do this!! Make a donation, go for a run – whatever but dont think a click of the button will help! XXXX Keep up the good work!

    • Tina April 23, 2013 at 2:23 pm #

      I’m in complete agreement Kirsten. I HATE those things. It’s just a new form of chain letter.

  2. Cat April 24, 2013 at 11:05 am #

    Amen sister. I hate it when people do this. Get off your ass and do something about it if you care so much – go visit a friend in hospital rather than paste a stupid post on FB that is truly meaningless. And tripping the elderly as they pass – wow, hadn’t thought of that one. No points in that! Just kidding!

  3. Xmas April 26, 2013 at 12:23 pm #

    Persactly.

Leave a comment